The Governing Body


Mr James Oliver
Mrs Elizabeth Cairncross
Mr George Bastin
Mr David Worlidge

Foundation Governors:

Mr Richard Twallin (Chairman)
Mr Harry Charnaud
Mrs Jill Jarvis
Mr Paul Williams
Mr David Landers
Mrs Mandy Kellagher
Mr Mark Davidson
Mr Brian Hasell
Mrs Kathy Jones
Mrs Lynn Dowell

Ex Officio, also representing the Diocese of Truro:

Revd Cathy Sigrist

Appointed by the Local Education Authority:

Mr Owain Hughes

Elected Parents:

Mrs Helen Daniel
Mrs Ali Wills

Elected Staff Member:

Mr James Crudge


Mrs Julie Curtis

Chair of Governing Body:

Mr Richard Twallin (Contact via The Worshipful Company of Ironmongers)

Clerk to Governing Body (Trustees):  Mrs Debbie Pitman

Contact Details:
Sir Robert Geffery’s School
School Road
Cornwall PL12 5EA
Tel:  01752 851362

Clerk to Members:  Colonel Charlie Knaggs OBE

Contact Details:
The Worshipful Company of Ironmongers
Ironmongers’ Hall
Shaftesbury Place
Tel: 020 7776 2304

Our Governors

Mr Richard Twallin (Foundation Governor – Chair)

Richard Twallin has worked in the IT industry all his career. His company develops management systems for a variety of disciplines including information security, environment and quality. He has been a member of the Court of the Ironmongers’ Company since 1996. He is a Churchwarden of his church in Hampshire and a trustee of the local C of E primary school.

Mrs Julie Curtis (Foundation Governor – Headteacher )

Julie has been a member of the Governing Body since her appointment as Headteacher in 2003.  She has led the school through many changes.
As her role necessitates, she is a member of every Committee.

Mr Harry Charnaud (Foundation Governor)

Harry Charnaud has been a member of the Worshipful Company of Ironmongers since 1984 and joined the Court in 2000. His work experience has encompassed working as a company director for the Inchcape Group and latterly for a UK manufacturing subsidiary of the ICL Group of Companies as Managing Director.

Sport is close to Harry’s heart, having played rugby for London Cornish RFC in London and on tour in Cornwall. He has three children two of whom are also Ironmongers.

Commander James Oliver FCMI (Foundation Governor)

Royal Navy 1959-1989. Clerk Worshipful Company of lronmongers and Clerk to the Govemors, Sir Robert Geffery’s School 1989 – 2005. Trust Manager, Ewelme Almshouse and Education Trusts since 2006. Lives near Maribcrough, Wiltshire.

Mrs Elizabeth Cairncross (Foundation Governor)

Elizabeth Cairncross is currently Principal of Wells Cathedral School and has been privileged to be part of the development of the school since 2000. She started her career as an English teacher. Elizabeth currently chairs the heads committee of the government’s nine Music and Dance Scheme schools and CASE UK’s independent schools’ committee.

Her interests are music, the 19th century novel, skiing, mountain walking, swimming, running, cooking – and the way in which leadership develops. She has three adult children and her husband, Andrew, appointed her to her first teaching post many years ago – at King Edward’s Witley. One of her great pleasures lies in being a member of the Worshipful Company of Ironmongers and, therefore, in being a foundation governor of this school!

Mr George Bastin (Foundation Governor)

George Bastin was Master of the Ironmongers Company during 2015/16 following his grandfather and father as Masters of the Company. His father was Chairman of the Landrake Governors for many years and it was a position he much enjoyed.  His father was proud to have served Landrake and George is proud to have followed in his father’s footsteps.
George had his own electronic engineering company and is keen to encourage engineering design and technology to young people. He has been a Presentee Governor at Christ’s Hospital and is Chairman of a local educational trust in the West Country. His motto during his year of Mastership was ‘Get Involved’ and he is keen to continue this while a Governor at Landrake.

Jill Jarvis (Foundation Governor)

Jill was appointed as a local Foundation Governor in 1999. She is Chairman of the Personnel Committee and has a responsibility for SEN. Until retiring she worked in banking and property development. Living locally her interests, apart from the school, are gardening, watercolour painting and boating. She is a Freeman of the Worshipful Company of Ironmongers.

Mr Paul Williams (Foundation Governor)

Paul is one of the newest members of the Governing Body and brings a legal perspective to the Board, have 20 years’ experience at the Bar.  He currently has a son attending the school, and his daughter was a pupil but has now moved on to secondary education.

A member of the Premises and Finance Committees.

Mr David Landers (Foundation Governor)

David has returned to the Governing Body recently, bringing his financial expertise. He lives in the village and was a parent governor previously when his three sons attended the school.
David is under taking the duties of the Responsible Officer on behalf of the governors.

A Member of the Finance and Personnel Committees.

Mrs Mandy Kellager (Foundation Governor)

Mandy was a governor for 8 years when her daughters were at the school and has rejoined the Governing Body since moving into the village. Mandy is on the Personnel and Premises Committees.  She worked as a vet for 25 years since when, in semi-retirement, she has taught English to speakers of other languages. She enjoys many sports, sings in choirs and is a late beginner on the cello.

Mr Owain Hughes (Appointed by the Local Education Authority)

Owain was a former member of the County Inspection Team and has many years’ experience as a headteacher and advisor.  As a Governor of Sir Robert Geffery’s School, he Chairs the Curriculum Committee and regularly meets with staff to discuss assessment and the Development Plan.

Mr James Crudge (Elected Staff Member)

Colonel Charlie Knaggs OBE (Clerk to the Governors)